5 Things I’ve Learned Sophomore Year

More than anything, this school year has been a learning experience. I can honestly say that I have been through some incredibly trying times in the past few months that I did not see coming. However, I want to be the kind of person who learns and grows from the mistakes they’ve made rather than wallowing in them. So, here are the top 5 lessons I’ve learned this year:

  1. Boys have feelings, too. It’s no secret that the majority of college guys are far from bring-home-to-mom material. Most of the time, they’re looking to get in your pants and that’s really about it. In accordance with this pessimistic belief of mine, I’ve never really considered the feelings of the guys in my life. I think this has been an attempt at protecting myself from crushed expectations by dehumanizing them…who knows. Anyway, this year I did something I never thought could happen. I hurt someone. I can’t even expand on this very much…but I guess I can take away from this experience a new knowledge of the power I actually have on other people’s lives.
  2. Know your rights. I can’t say too much about this without getting offensive, but I think that the justice system needs a lot of work. Something as simple as an officer’s mood can determine your fate.
  3. Never underestimate the power of a nonjudgemental friend. Last night, I told my friend that I was avoiding certain people in the room because of “awkward histories” with them and when she asked what the awkward situations were, I told her I didn’t want to say. She looked at me and said, “When have I ever judged you?” I almost cried right there because of how right she was. There is nothing more liberating than having someone you can tell anything, anything to without fear that they will think differently of you. I don’t know where I would be if I didn’t have such amazing friends to lean on even when I’m in the wrong.
  4. Sometimes, you can’t fix a situation and you have to just let it unfold. Who knew? I always want things to unfold as planned, and when they don’t I usually can manipulate a situation to my benefit. Sometimes, no amount of talking, changing, or listening will steer things in the direction you want them to go and there really isn’t anything to do in that situation except throw up your hands. It’s tough to admit defeat, but it is what it is.
  5. “Ah, yes. The past can hurt. But the way I see it you can either run from it or learn from it.”-Rafiki, The Lion KingThis one really speaks for itself. It has been a long, rough, crazy year and I can only hope that I’m coming out of it with new lessons and a fresh perspective. I’ve never been the kind of person to wallow in the past or in things that can’t be changed, and I hope that I keep that quality and use this year as an opportunity for growth.

So that’s that! 5 things I’ve learned in my sophomore year. Maybe I’ll do one of these every year and see how my life lessons progress. Only time will tell.

And now here’s a photo from a few weekends ago to keep things visually interesting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

